Back to News

Nine Elms South Bank Cable Tunnel Wins Award


Hosted by broadcaster, former Tomorrow’s World presenter, Maggie Philbin, the awards saw the Nine Elms South Bank Cable Tunnel, win London Infrastructure Project of the Year. The complex project was constructed in close proximity to rail lines and utilities, and carefully designed to complete an underground reinforced concrete junction chamber.

Clancy Docwra, principal contractor on behalf of UK Power Networks Edison Alliance, appointed Joseph Gallagher to design and build a spur tunnel and connection chamber into an existing 132kV cable tunnel in the Battersea Nine Elms regeneration opportunity area. Passing close to existing third party rail infrastructure and clean/dirty water assets Joseph Gallagher used extensive, carefully designed and sequenced handworks to construct an underground reinforced concrete junction chamber; under/over and around the existing UK Power Networks tunnel starting from inside the shield used to drive the new tunnel. Automated monitoring removed the risk for surveyors during junction chamber construction. Bespoke internal steel strapping was used to support the existing wedge block cable tunnel during construction of the underground chamber, reducing the risk of existing tunnel movement and potential cable damage, while an existing building was modified to act as acoustic shed as works ran 24hrs for a year.

The team completed 118,110 injury-free man hours while working on the project.

Innovative design, construction and use of technology

Use of Shaped Accel Array monitoring system to measure movements of existing dirty water assets in real time during junction chamber construction whilst removing risk of surveyors.
Designed by COWI, Joseph Gallagher used a bespoke internal steel strapping system to support an existing wedge block cable tunnel during connection to the new tunnel to reduce the risk of existing tunnel movement (and avoid any potential damage to critical. The connection between the new and existing tunnels was formed by excavating vertically out of the new tunnel to form a chimney and then tunnelling horizontally over and around the existing tunnel by traditional hand excavating techniques, using timber supports and steel frames. These areas were then concreted and the new opening was formed.

ICE President, Professor Lord Robert Mair said:
“I was delighted to be at the ICE London Civil Engineering Awards to help celebrate the successes in our industry, and see some of the fantastic projects that civil engineers are delivering – projects that really can transform lives.
The winners highlight the importance of civil engineers who provide many of the things we need but often take for granted every day – such as clean water, transport and power.
I am proud to serve as President during the Institution of Civil Engineers 200th anniversary. Our profession has to think creatively to address the difficulties presented to it, and after seeing the winners tonight, I am confident our profession can help provide solutions to those challenges.”

Deputy Mayor for Planning, Regeneration and Skills, Jules Pipe said:
“Our city is growing and will soon be home to nine million Londoners. Growth is a sign of our success but will also mean increasing pressures on housing, transport and all aspects of the city. The Mayor is determined to ensure that London’s future is supported by the vital infrastructure it needs.
“This year’s ICE London Awards highlight the important contributions of our talented civil engineers, who deliver the infrastructure of tomorrow and keep our city moving. Crossrail showcases the capital’s ingenuity and what can be achieved when combining talent, ambition and innovation. The lessons from this project will stand the test of time and are recognised across the world.”

LEFT TO RIGHT PHOTO: George Pali (Clancy Dowcra), Gerard Quigg (COWI), Damian McGirr (COWI), Mark Thurston, (CEO of HS2), Gary Dann (Joseph Gallagher), Paul Challinor (Joseph Gallagher), James Belcher (UKPN), Tony Matheson (Joseph Gallagher), Tony Rogers (UKPN), Martin McGovern (Clancy Dowcra), Joseph Gallagher (Chairman, Joseph Gallagher)

More News